Administrative Information

Board of Trustees

The Marion County Public Library is comprised of five Board of Trustees from around the county.  Each Trustee is responsible for the financial well fare and betterment of library services for our communities.  If you are interested in serving on the Marion County Public Library Board, and for qualifying information, please contact the Library Director. The Board of Trustees generally meets every third Thursday of the month at the Marion County Public Library, though their meeting dates are subject to change.

2020 Board of Trustees

Dixie Yann – President

Luella Conaway – Secretary

Blair Montgomery – Treasurer

Donna Nuzum – Trustee

Joan Schroering – Trustee

Mission Statement

The Marion County Public Library System provides the best possible library service to the citizens of the region. It is the system’s function to serve the educational, cultural, informational, and recreational needs of both children and adults. The library system explores all methods of communication and technology to accomplish this purpose.

System Operations

The Marion County Public Library System is made up of the Main Library in Fairmont, and two branch libraries. It is governed by a five member Board of Trustees, as provided for in the West Virginia code, Chapter 10. Members are appointed by the municipality, the Board of Education, the County Commission, or a combination of these bodies.


The Main Library in Fairmont serves as system headquarters under the administration of the library director. The Main Library receives and reports income from various government funding sources throughout the fiscal year.


Erika Connelly – Library Director

Larissa Dean – Assistant Library Director

Kerry Trahan – Administrative Assistant – Fairmont

Linda Sickle – Branch Manager – Mannington

Janna Russell – Branch Manager – Fairview